An update and a return?

Two years. It’s been ALMOST two years since my last blog post. I doubt anyone has noticed but for those of you who stumble across this, that’s how long it’s been. Over the past few months I’ve, of course, wanted to write but a lot has got in the way, work mostly, me being a horrible procrastinator, the list goes on.

With it being 2020 I thought I’d kill two birds, as the saying goes, and aim to update you all on what I’ve been doing and HOPEFULLY start writing more whenever inspiration pushes past my overwhelming laziness. So here it goes.

The past year or so has actually been quite an eventful one, another reason why this blog was abandoned.

I remember seeing a tweet at the end of 2018 asking people what they were most proud of doing, their most memorable moments of the year etc. Of course people were mentioning holidays, concerts, personal achievements, but when it came to me all I could think of was going on holiday once and working the majority of the time. How boring. So, as a result, 2019 began with me telling myself I wanted to do more, no matter what it was, whether it be holidays, concerts, going out more, whatever. And do more is exactly what I did.

Over the course of 2019 I went to five different concerts and honestly it was one of the best things I did, and for those of you who are interested (or just nosy) here are those gigs:

February: Don Broco, Neck Deep and Issues (Three of my favourite bands in one night? Iconic)

March: Panic! At the Disco (A band I’ve been wanting to see live since I was 12 (100% worth it)

April: Adore Delano’s A Pizza Me Tour (My first time seeing her since 2015)

June: P!NK (Honestly an artist I’d never really thought about going to see but WHAT A SHOW, and one I won’t forget in a hurry)

December: The Nightmare Before Christmas Live (Catherine O’Hara, in person, need I say more?)

Having so many gigs just gave me something to look forward to, and being able to finally check off seeing so many of my favourite artists just made the year even more memorable. However, I know what you’re thinking, what else did I do besides spend all my money on seeing my favourite musicians? Well, something (maybe) not as fun, depending on your interests, but I spent a lot of time gaming.

The end of 2018 saw one of the most anticipated games from Rockstar being released, Red Dead Redemption 2. Arguably one of the best games that the company has released and one I spent numerous hours on, buying and playing it the day it was released right through to the end of December, and boy, what a journey that took me on. Jump back to 2019, I managed to get my hands on a limited edition Spiderman PS4, along with the game so you can imagine what I spent the first few months of 2019 playing, again an incredible game and one I look forward to going back to as I’ve YET to complete all of the side missions. With the addition of the PS4 I was introduced to old games I hadn’t played in years (GTA Vice City) as well as a few others and as a result the majority of my 2019 was spent playing games that weren’t available on my Xbox or trying to decide which console to watch Netflix on. (Binge watching being another thing to add to my list of things I did and have continued doing into 2020)

And here we are, at the bit I am the worst at, finding a way to end my posts. Conclusions have never been my forte, they’re always meant to be short and to the point but I like to ramble on, just like I’m doing right now. This post wasn’t meant to be as long as it is, and part of me feels like updating you guys on what this year has in store for me (more concerts, of course) but we’d be here for days, weeks, maybe months, maybe I’m exaggerating, and if you’re anything like me you get distracted and don’t want to read more than this.

Basically, I hope that 2020 sees my return to writing, I’ve been inspired by journalists online the past few months and who knows where this newfound inspiration could take me, we’ll just need to wait and see. Until next time, thank you for reading, and hopefully you enjoyed whatever this is!

Leave a comment